Australia Awards Scholarships for African Students 2015 2016

Australia Awards Scholarship is annually invite African students to take higher education, pursuing master’s degree program in Australia. It is a cornerstone of the Australian Government’s development assistance program for Africa, provide access to postgraduate education, training and professional development opportunities for suitably qualified Africans from eligible countries. On their return to the workplace, Australia Awards Alumni are expected to contribute actively to development in their home countries.

This international scholarships for African students are offered for two years. There are specific field of studies for each country.

Study in: Australia
Host Institution: Australian Government – Australian university
Course Level: Master’s Degree
Course Starts:

Australia Awards Scholarships for African 2015/2016

Australia awards scholarships for Africa students

Aplications for the 2015 Masters Awards are now closed. But it means, you have enough time to prepare for the next round (September to December).

Field of Study(s):

These international scholarships offered to African students who want to take masters program in these various field of studies. Each African country have specific areas:

  • Tunisia: Agriculture,
  • Egypt: Agriculture/Food Security, Education and Health
  • Uganda: Agriculture/Food Security, Education, Health, Infrastructure, Natural Resource Management and Public Policy.
  • Algerians: Agriculture/Food Security, Health, Natural Resource Management, Public policy, Water and Sanitation, Mining and Resources,
  • Moroccan, South Sudan: Agriculture/Food Security, Natural Resource Management and Public Policy,
  • Ethiopia, Liberia: Agriculture/Food Security, Health, Infrastructure, Natural Resource Management, Science and Technology and Water and Sanitation
  • Mauritania, Mali, Niger, Chad, Sudan, Nigeria, Kenya, Cameroon, Ghana: Agriculture/Food Security, Mining, Resources and Public Policy

Target Group:

Australia Awards Scholarships for African is dedicated for international students from these countries: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, South Africa, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Swaziland, Tanzania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Libya, Rwanda, Gabon, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda and Zambia.


To apply Australia Awards for African, applicants must meet these criteria:

  • at least 25 and not more than 50 years of age at the date of application.
  • possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) from a recognized Institution of at least 4 years in length with at least a 2:2 (2nd class lower division)
  • have at least three (3) years’ relevant work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to his/her proposed field of study and to employment organisation type (e.g. public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience, and so on). Preference will be given to applicants with greater periods of experience.
  • must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree
  • have a minimum English language proficiency equivalent to an overall IELTS score of 5.0 with no band score lower than 4.5. (Equivalent TOEFL scores are also accepted). Those with overall scores of lower than 6.5 who are selected for an award will be supported to undertake between 3 and 9 months pre-course English language training and will need to achieve a score of 6.5 at the end of this training with no band score lower than 6.
  • be willing to make a formal commitment to return to applicants’ current employment following completion of the award.
  • meet the general minimum eligibility criteria for Australia Awards Scholarships.

What does it cover:

For holders of an Australia Awards Scholarship, entitlements include:

  • the full costs of tuition fees for up to two years for a Masters award
  • an economy class flight to and from Australia is provided and
  • overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) is also provided to cover Awardee’s basic medical costs.
  • an AUD 31,000 per annum stipend to cover living expenses whilst on award in Australia
  • a one off Establishment Allowance of AUD 5,000 is payable to assist with the costs of starting life in Australia and commencing awardee’s course (e.g. course books and materials, rental deposits, household items etc.).
  • for awardees, whose families remain in their home country, may be permitted to a reunion airfare to allow them to travel home midway through the course, but this is only available to Awardees whose course is for 2 years or longer.

How to apply:

Applicants must apply online. Visit the link below, hover over the Africa map, click on ‘choose your country’ and check the country-specific page for details on whether your country receives scholarships. Click “APPLY for a award” button, then click “Request Application”.

Source & further information on Australia Awards Scholarships for African 2015/ 2016:

Official Site for African
Africa Map



Random Scholarships:

One thought on “Australia Awards Scholarships for African Students 2015 2016

  1. Richard P. Wennie on said:

    When will the next round of Australia africa awards 2015/2016 start?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.